The East Coast Economic Region Development Council (ECERDC) is a statutory body established to spearhead the socio-economic development of the East Coast Economic Region (ECER). ECERDC plays a lead role in setting directions, formulating policies and developing strategies for the socio-economic development of ECER by promoting and facilitating investments into the Region.

The ECER of Malaysia covers Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and the district of Mersing in Johor. It occupies an area of 66,000 sq km or 51% of the total area of Peninsular Malaysia.

Five key economic clusters, namely Manufacturing, Oil, Gas & Petrochemicals, Tourism, Agriculture and Human Capital Development will drive the development of ECER in line with the Government Transformation Programme (GTP) and Economic Transformation Programme (ETP).

The ECER Master Plan, approved by the Government in 2008, was formulated as a basis to guide the development of ECER until 2020. It identifies projects and programmes to reduce regional socio-economic disparities, eradicate poverty and improve income and wealth distribution in a sustainable manner.