Five growth clusters to boost ECER

8/4/2009 — BERNAMA
Five growth clusters will be established within the East Coast Economic Region (ECER) to step up development and economic growth in the area.
The clusters are petroleum, gas and petrochemical, agriculture, education, manufacturing and tourism.
This was among decisions made at the ECER development council meeting chaired by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday.
The meeting also discussed the establishment of a port city, a centre for automotive industry in Pekan, Pahang, a plastic manufacturing centre in Kerteh, Terengganu, and an agropolitan project, among others.
Najib will spell out details of the five clusters after launching the agropolitan project in Pekan today, which is expected to provide jobs to 5,000 locals.
The meeting was also attended by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Pahang Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob, Terengganu Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said, Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman and Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat.
IOI Group executive chairman Tan Sri Lee Shin Cheng was the private sector representative at the meeting.