Abdullah To Launch ECER Development Council In Terengganu On Saturday

KUALA TERENGGANU, June 11 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah
Ahmad Badawi will launch the East Coast Economic Region (ECER) Development
Council when he visits Terengganu this Saturday.
It will be announced at the launching at Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT), that
a one-stop centre will be set up to ensure the smooth implementation of the projects
identified for the ECER programme.
A statement issued by the ECER secretariat here today says that the development
council will comprise the prime minister as the chairman, his
deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and the Menteris Besar of Kelantan,
Terengganu, Pahang and Johor.
The prime minister will also appoint two ministers representing the public sector and
another two individuals from the private sector, to the ECER Development Council.
According to the statement, a number of incentives will be introduced to draw
investments from local and foreign investors in setting up projects in the ECER.
The incentives will depend on the locations, with focus on development of cluster
industries to increase productivity and to enable the participating companies to
compete locally and internationally.
Every industrial cluster, namely tourism, agriculture, manufacturing, oil and gas, and
education will have the respective incentives, specially drawn up to fulfil the needs of
The ECER Development Council will have the task of stimulating, promoting and
accelerating growth in ECER in a balanced and sustainable manner.
The ECER will be developed into a world-class economic hub for the region and to
be the choice destination for investment, employment and residence.
The ECER which was launched last October, is one of the country’s five
development corridors introduced by the federal government to eradicate poverty
and increase economic activities as well as to balance development between the
The ECER development plan covering Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Mersing
district in Johor will focus on specific sectors, namely tourism, oil, gas and
petrochemicals, manufacturing, agriculture and education.